Reading Habits Because I’ve Been Tagged

Well, I’ve been officially initiated into the world of blogging. A couple of months back Stephen over in the Deep South (Africa, to be exact) “tagged” me regarding my reading habits. Since its a snow day, I thought I would finally answer! (Sorry for the delay Stephen).

Onto who I would now tag: Grant Owens, Jeremy Carr, Dave Lindberg, Gavin Ortlund, Jared Lee, and Todd Gwennap. How would you answer the following:

One Book that changed your life:

Abide in Christ1) Abide in Christ, Andrew Murray – great, classic book dealing with the Christian’s communion with the living God! Greatly encouraging, invigorating read!

2) Children of the Living God, Sinclair Ferguson – I can never just narrow these things down to 1 book. Ferguson’s book on the doctrine of Adoption is absolutely incredible. Clear and compelling. I can think of no other book (other than Abide in Christ that has helped me understand more what it means to be a child of God (i.e. Christian).

One book that you’ve read more than once

Genesis 1-41) Anything by N.T. Wright – because I don’t get him right away!

2) Genesis 1-4, John C. Collins – Mostly because Dr. Collins requires this for every class he teaches! (But, its also really, really good too.)

One book that you’d want on a desert island

Mission of God1) The Bible (ESV) – What kind of a pastor would I be if I didn’t say this? But if you want to know what one book other than the Bible…

2) Anything by John Owen – as I would finally have time to really read and digest Owen. And since I’m alone on an island, it would be pointless to say Mission of God by Christopher J.H. Wright, wouldn’t it?

2 Books that made you laugh:

Sex, Drugs, Cocoa Puffs1) Sex, Drugs and Cocoa Puffs, Chuck Klosterman – Oh man, I couldn’t stop reading it. Very, very funny, as well as insightful. Don’t read if you’re uptight on language (just a friendly warning).

2) Confessions of a Reformission Reverend, Mark Driscoll – Very honest and candid reflections on the life of a young church planter. I think I starting laughing at the Table of Contents, and didn’t stop throughout the rest of the book. Its a rare book that both has you holding your stomach because your laughing, and at the same time, challenging your life at the same time. This was one of those for me.

One book that made you cry

New Testament and the Peopel of God1) I don’t read books that make me cry (That’s what movies are for); but if you’re making me answer…

2) The New Testament People of God, N.T. Wright – because after reading the first 300 pages of the book, I found out my professor’s were only requiring us to read the last 300 pages!!!

One book you wish had been written

1) You Believe That? Historical Theology and Those Who Love Their Doctrines, For God Only Knows Why

One book you are currently reading:

The Reason for God1) The Reason for God, Tim Keller – Its Keller, of course I’m reading it.

2) On Being Presbyterian, Sean Lucas – Because I’m having denominational identity issues (Sort of…).

One book you’ve been meaning to read:

Biblical Theology1) Biblical Theology, Geerhardus Vos – everybody lately has been talking about Vos, and Biblical Theology (vs. Systematic Theology). I figure I’m getting enough of the Systematics, so why not try to get some of the other stuff. Problem is finding the time, or, re-arranging the time to allow for more reading.

This entry was posted in Biblical Theology, Books, Links by Chris Gensheer. Bookmark the permalink.

About Chris Gensheer

Husband and father of four, living in Mansfield, TX, serving as Lead Pastor of Christ Church Mansfield. Connect with us at www.christchurchmansfield.com I also provide research and social media consulting work for other pastors, churches, and ministry leaders. Contact me at gensheer@mac.com for more.

Leave a Reply

