One of those weeks – more Gospel Reminders

What can I say…its been one of those weeks.  Trying, taxing and very healthy for my life as a child of God.  This weeks has been crazy busy with school (couple of exams, a paper, reading a book for a class this weekend, and preparing a sermon – which I’m avoiding right now b/c I’ve got “sermon block”).  But in the midst of all that, I’ve really been able to discern God working on my heart and showing me my sin in a very real way, that has led me to really fall down at His feet and trust in His mercy and grace.  This broke down in two ways:

The first came through reading The Person of Christ by Don Macleod, which was for a test in The Person of Christ by D. Macleodone of my classes.  I had read this over the summer, but apparently didn’t think too highly of it in contrast to my professor.  I basically had to go back and re-read large sections of it, and am I glad I did.  Through that process, I really saw and felt clearly what Jesus Christ did on my behalf; something I’ve believed in my head, and have been trying to get out of the way to let it sink into my heart and come out in my life – that Jesus Christ alone is my salvation, and I am but a mere recipient of His blessing and grace.  Here’s a humdinger from that book that really penetrated not only my mind, but my heart as well (On the Incarnation of Christ and His Suffering on the Cross)

“Here, even more than at Gethsemane, we have to remind ourselves that Christ suffered vicariously.  The gospel of the dereliction is not that Christ shares our forsakenness but that he saves us from it. He endured it, not with us, but for us.  We are immune to the curse (Gal. 3:13) and to the condemnation (Rom. 8:3) precisely because Christ took them upon himself and went, in our place, into the outer darkness.  It remains true, of course, that he sympathizes with us in even the most acute of our emotional traumas, but the learning of compassion was not the primary motive behind the dereliction, which involved a journey into territory ordinary men and women will never tread.  What Golgotha secured for us was not sympathy but immunity,”  – D. Macleod, p. 178 

Jesus endured the most unimaginable hell for my sake, not merely to be able to “sympathize” with my plight, but to secure my standing before our Holy Father God.  How can I neglect such a marvelous truth, and entertain any notion of sin when I have this presented before me.  The free offer of salvation of the Gospel is too weighty for me to play lightly with.  How it has crushed me and brought me back up again!

I’ll save the second thing that rocked my world for later…

Leave a Reply

