Am I a man? Yes…technically

Flight of the Conchords

For those poor souls out there who have yet to experience the comedic genius of “Flight of the Conchords”, I will try to share something by them ever so often. My wife and I stumbled upon this show while flipping channels late at night and laughed like crazy at this one.

Enjoy

How Jeremy Carr got in with the ESV crowd

Just saw my old friend Jeremy Carr as one of the “poster boys” for the ESV bible at esvbible.org. Jeremy’s an old friend from college (Go Jaguars!) who is planting a church in downtown Augusta called The Well, and from what I hear doing some really great things for the kingdom back in the “dirty south.” I like being able to point out my friends whenever I get a chance.

I probably should plug the ESV too, since I’m linking it. It really is a great version of the bible that brings some good balance to conceptual/contextual clarity and good, solid, literal rendering of the Greek/Hebrew/Aramaic language. Plus, one of my former pastors and a couple of my current seminary professors did some of the exegetical work. All that to say that I’m a fan of it. And so is Jeremy…

Jeremy Carr and ESV Banner

I know my Bible

At least, it took me 4 times to finally pass the standardized Bible Content exam that Covenant Seminary requires us to take. So now, I can confiidently say that “I know my Bible,” because I know that ‘Ebal‘ is actually a mountain instead of a river.

In all seriousness, I am thankful. This was my last attempt to pass the exam. If I hadn’t, then I would have to take two additional classes to compensate for it, which would have kept us in seminary for 1 extra year in the long-run. Our on-campus rent is $900/month, so you do the math. I would much rather take my time in seminary and really process this stuff, but the finances make that virtually impossible. Plus, I missed it the previous time by only two questions, so me, my wife and 2.5 year old daughter Maya prayed that I would pass it by at least 2. Lo and behold, I made it by 2 points exactly. God’s got a sense of humor in how he works things out.

Much thanks to Steve Whitney and his sight. It came in very handy in preparing over the summer, and will probably return to it as I prepare for ordination after seminary.

Just wanted to share some good news.